< Click the logo to return to the main page
+ More

Google
You are currently browsing the Forums
  Add to Favourites RSS Feed Main Site Knowledgebase Forums  
Search

Forums


You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Suggestion: Codec Pack
Moderators: Cole

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [10 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   General discussion -> SuggestionsMessage format
 
geo
Posted 15/9/2005 6:26 PM (#394)
Subject: Suggestion: Codec Pack




Posts: 6

could you add a mediaplayer prefereably zoom player[freeware] with all the video associations and custom media playback enabled....
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Link Bot
Related Links:


Bot

Posts: Lots
Top of the page Bottom of the page
maska
Posted 15/9/2005 6:38 PM (#395 - in reply to #394)
Subject: RE: Suggestion: Codec Pack


VIP

Posts: 45
25
The freeware version of Zoom Player does not support the Cutomized Media Mode.

Remember that you could have problems when installing another player or changing codec packs due to associations things.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Cole
Posted 15/9/2005 7:35 PM (#396 - in reply to #394)
Subject: RE: Suggestion: Codec Pack


Owner

Posts: 589
500252525
I had considered it, but maska is correct.

One issue is at what point components stop being added.

Example:

Mobile phones are a great example of over integration, some people rely on them so much that when they fail they lose their use of a still camera, video camera, mp3 player, phone, messaging, mobile email and WAP.

The same applies to software and if people run into problems its easier to target a fault if it can be related to a set group of components.

Ideally a codec pack should do what it states its function as.

Another issue is the file size, in many cases people would not actually use an extra player so it would be quite a waste of resources.
Although the package increase would be very small, its effect would be quite noticeable after tens of thousands of downloads.

I have been considering a custom player package for a later date though, which would have around 3 players with options to playback different file types in different players, for example:

WMP or Zoom Player for audio, WMP by default.
WMP or Zoom Player for major video formats, WMP by default.
Media Player Classic for QuickTime & RealMedia.
Right click context option to playback any media type that is troublesom/part broken in VLC Player.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Mattias
Posted 9/1/2006 6:46 PM (#877 - in reply to #394)
Subject: RE: Suggestion: Codec Pack




Posts: 40
25
Thats bad ide man... do your self use the player you wont dont hang upp to a codec pack... i men it can be problem wen you wont to uppdate it... :S but he som do de codec pack has not upp date it... tahts not good... ok :D
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Cole
Posted 9/1/2006 7:25 PM (#881 - in reply to #394)
Subject: RE: Suggestion: Codec Pack


Owner

Posts: 589
500252525
Hi,

I'm considering adding Media Player Classic to the packs but it wouldn't cause any conflicts or problems when updating, because the player would have it's own uninstaller seperate from the codec pack.

The codec packs are always updated when all of the updated components are considered stable, updates also usually occur after 3-4 components have been updated.

Hope thats helpful
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Narendil
Posted 4/4/2006 6:24 AM (#1041 - in reply to #394)
Subject: RE: Suggestion: Codec Pack




Posts: 1

It would be a good idea to have all things in one directory other than system32 and it's subdirectory. It makes problems if all things are in system32.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Cole
Posted 6/4/2006 9:55 AM (#1044 - in reply to #394)
Subject: RE: Suggestion: Codec Pack


Owner

Posts: 589
500252525
Hi, actually it's a very bad idea to put them anywhere other than system32. system32 is in the search paths of the Windows core and is a short length path eg. C:\Windows\system32.
Also something like C:\Program Files\Codec Pack would be invalid for all encoder dll's due to spaces in the path name.

If I added a different directory I would have to define the location of almost every file in the registry, which could lead to 3-4 times the entry size.
Another option would be to add a new search path to Windows, but that would apply to Windows' use of any application that locates files via search paths, which in turn would cause a performance loss.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [10 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread

(Delete all cookies set by this site)


Seconds to generate: 0.046 | Executed queries : 10

Copyright Cole Williams 1999 - 2021 | www.EnVision-Design.co.uk